Posted by: willi49 | November 13, 2010

The Best and Worst of Thanksgiving: Part 2!

Here are a few more bests and worsts of the holidays!

Best: Cranberries
Cranberries have always been a crowd pleaser around my house at the holidays! And luckily, they are one of the healthiest options for you! These tart berries are rich in antioxidants, fiber, and potassium, and are low in calories. In addition, these pretty little berries contain unique compounds with antibacterial properties that may help prevent urinary tract infections. There are so many different variations that you can do with cranberries when it comes times for the holidays! Get creative! You can try anything from cranberry scones to cranberry relishes! But if you’re looking for a great, home-made cranberry sauce, look no further! Click here for a great recipe for a traditional cranberry sauce that is a family favorite! (And it’s easy too!)

Worst: Mashed Potatoes
This holiday favorite can go either way, so don’t worry, there is hope! In their natural state, potatoes offer plenty of nutrients such as vitamin C and potassium, and have relatively few calories. But beware of potatoes prepared with too much butter, whole milk, heavy cream, or other fatty ingredients. The very ingredients that can make them creamy can wreck a perfectly nutritious choice by adding hundreds of calories and many grams of saturated fat. So instead of diving into that standard potato recipe of yours, try something new this year! Or attempt to make that favorite recipe of yours a little healthier by leaving out a few of the unhealthy ingredients. If you are adventurous enough to try something new, I recommend this lightened up version of a delicious mashed potato! I promise you wont be disappointed!

Best: Turkey
Eating any high-quality protein helps to trigger satiety so you’re less likely to over-indluge on less healthy foods. And turkey – dark meat or white meat – is one fo the lowest-calories protein sources you can eat. A three-ounce serving of skinless turkey breast has about 120 calories and only one gram of fat! But beware of that skin! Be sure to trim off the skin before eating. That’s where most of the fat and calories lurk!

Worst: Pecan Pie
A typical slice of this nutty dessert can cost you over 600 calories! Top it with a scoop of vanilla ice cream, and you may be pushing 750 calories and 8g saturated fat! Of course I of all people understand that sometimes you just have to indulge, so I’m not saying never have pecan pie, but save this for a special occasion and use moderation as your guide. If you can stray away from the pecan pie, choose a pumpkin pie or a sweet potato pie for a lower-calorie option. Or try to lighten up your recipe for pecan pie. If all else fails, try this lightened version of pecan pie that has only 311 calories plus the benefits of a whole grain: oats! Sure beats that 600 calorie slice!


Responses

  1. I love cranberries and turkey! definitely two of my favorite things for thanksgiving dinner. I am glad that both of these are on the healthy list.

  2. As a child, mashed potatoes was my favorite thanksgiving side. Fortunately, my tastes have changed and I find the two healthy items on this list are now my preferred choice of thanksgiving food.

  3. I Am so glad to hear that Turkey is low in calories. Yeah bring on the bird!

  4. Why are the tasty things so good!! It is nice to have a reminder of what we will be eating in the next couple of days.

  5. Man, I love pecan pie, but now I’ll probably stick with healthier options. Thanks for posting!

  6. This is sadly not the article you want to read the day before Thanksgiving…. but it is a good reminder and I really like how you applied your blog topic to what is going on in everyone’s lives right now!

  7. Best or worst i like all of these things! What about pumpkin pie?

  8. Wow, the poor Pecan Pie and mashed potatoes. Those are my two favorite things about Thanksgiving, I’m glad I read this after Thanksgiving and not before.

  9. I just hate that all the best things are the worst for you. I love pecan pie.

  10. After reading this post, I now know that I need to make some adjustments in my thanksgiving diet. Thanks for the tips.

  11. I’ve always heard, “It is tastes good, spit it out…it’s probably bad for you!” and it’s so sad, but true. All of the good things at the holiday are things we probably shouldn’t even make. I guess that we just need to eat in moderation.

  12. My two favorite things are the ones that are the worst! Goes to show I just like naturally fat, carb filled, and sugary foods

  13. It’s good to know the health facts of foods that you wouldn’t usually have this information for. I would like to say that with this knowledge I will from now on eat differently on Thanksgiving, but I think the better option for me would be to be careful in the portion sizes, I just can’t go without the good stuff on one of my favorite holidays!

  14. I guess I’m lucky that I’m not really a fan of pecan pie, though I love love love mashed potatoes. Fortunately you can prepare that many ways, and can often still enjoy them without all the heavy cream and all that. Thanksgiving food is just so wonderful, despite the constant “all in moderation” battle.

  15. I didn’t know mashed potatoes were so bad for you. I will try to eat them in their natural state more often.

  16. Why are delicious foods so bad for you sometimes? I’ve never gained weight after thanksgiving but I can see why so many people do after the holiday break.

  17. That is too bad I love pecan pie! I think it is this okay on thanksgiving but not everyday.

  18. Why must we LOVE the things that are the worst for us!? I cut myself some slack at the holidays, but I am definitely guilty of eating too much of the bad stuff – especially mashed potatoes! I am quite happy to hear that cranberries are so healthy! I always make the cranberry sauce for the holidays, unfortunately our recipe calls for a lot more sugar than I think it healthy (but it tastes so good!)

  19. I love mashed potatoes, no matter how unhealthy they are. Good thing i usually only have them on Thanksgiving.


Leave a comment

Categories